Plasma2012 attendees

Main sponsor



The Joint 18th International Stellarator/Heliotron Workshop and 10th Asia Pacific Plasma Theory Conference was held in Australia (29 Jan. 2012 - 3 Feb. 2012) at the Australian National University in Canberra and Murramurang Beachfront Nature Reserve, a beautiful location on the south coast of NSW. The combined meeting was held in cooperation with the International Atomic Energy Agency.

The purpose of the combined meetings was to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of research in the field of helical fusion magnetic confinement, thereby bridging stellarator and tokamak communities, and foster Asia-Pacific regional collaboration in theory and modelling.

The conference attracted over 120 abstracts from scientists drawn from 11 nations, and was opened by the ANU Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ian Young. Conference topics spanned plasma physics, materials science, and fusion technology development. A dedicated session on Monday was held on materials science, enabling involvement of the wider Australian materials science community. The meeting was supported by Thomson Scientific, which supplied the H-1 transmitter, AINSE, which supported student attendance, ANSTO, which sponsored the conference dinner, the journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion, which provided a student prize, and the IAEA through its technical cooperation program. A number of ABC radio interviews were held in conjunction with the event, featuring Dr Blackwell and Dr Hole.

The week following PLASMA 2012 featured the 17th Gasesous Electronics Meeting, also at Murramarang resort. GEM covers all aspects of gaseous electronics and related multidisciplinary topics and applications. Further details can be found at

Mailing list

An email list is being maintained for future (post-conference) announcements. Click here to sign up to the announcement email list.

Important dates